CommitteeThe following committees have been created by the Board of Directors to assist in carrying out the mission, objectives, and goals of FPA. Email a committee chair if you have questions, concerns, or would like to volunteer.

  • Continuing Education Committee serves the interests of members by ensuring that FPA only offers programs that are in compliance with standards set by the American Psychological Association and the Florida Board of Psychology. Chair: Dr. Taylor Thompson
  • Diversity & Cultural Competence Committee has a focus on increasing awareness of the unique issues that affect the diverse populations that FPA members serve in Florida, as well as providing on-going opportunities to increase cultural competence in the practice of psychological science (clinical practice, research, consultation and education) throughout the state. Chairs: Drs. Michelle Ferrer and Ana Gomez

    • Black, Indigenous and People of Color (BIPOC) Affinity Group is a designated safe space for psychologists who share the identities of Black, Indigenous, and/or People of Color. All who identify as BIPOC are invited to join. Co-Facilitators: Drs. Christi Cabrera and Christiane Blanco-Oilar

    • Antiracist White Ally Development Group is a designated space for psychologists and graduate students who identify as White. This group will provide support for identifying ways to be an ally, show up, amplify, and give power to voices of color. Co-Facilitators Drs. Mary Ann Clark and Gary Howell

  • Early Career Psychologist Network is a subcommittee of the Membership Committee and serves the interests of early career psychologist (ECP) members by ensuring that FPA offers programs and services that will uniquely serve psychologists during their first ten after receipt of the doctoral degree. Chair: Dr. Paola Rodrigues

  • Legislative Affairs/Public Policy Board oversees the legislative agenda, administrative code, court decisions and public policy related to mental health and practitioners of psychology for FPA. Chair: Dr. Liz Campbell

  • Membership Committee serves the interests of members by ensuring that membership numbers remain high enough to keep FPA financially and politically viable and to improve member satisfaction through programs and services. Chair: Dr. Diane McKay

  • Prescriptive Authority Committee has a goal of gaining prescriptive authority for appropriately trained licensed psychologists in the state of Florida. The committee advocates for increased access to mental health care in underserved communities utilizing behavioral and pharmacotherapeutic tools including education, community outreach, and legislative efforts. Chair: Dr. Judy Steinman

  • Programming Committee oversees the development of the biennial FPA Convention including convention mode, theme, title, content, and promotion. Chair: Dr. Kristi Van Sickle, President Elect

Committees Operating Under PsycHealth Florida (FPA's Nonprofit Affiliate)

  • Disaster Resource Network is for psychologists interested in disaster mental health and disaster response. Engagement can be in a variety of areas reflective of the Pillars of Disaster Mental Health which include: Leadership; Training; Research and Theory; and Response. Chair: Dr. David Romano
  • Public Education Committee advances psychology as a science and profession and as a means of promoting health and human welfare, by the diffusion of psychological knowledge through public presentations, written, broadcast, and electronic media. Chair: Dr. Taryn Goldberg

APA Liaisons

FPA understands the importance of working collaboratively with the American Psychological Association (APA). APA has created certain positions whose work is most effective when integrated with the governance structure of the state psychological association. FPA has recognized the following positions within the FPA committee structure. Contact our liaisons with questions, concerns, or if you would like to volunteer:

APA Council Representative:  Dr. Lori Butts

Federal Advocacy Coordinators:  Drs. Liz Campbell and Kristi Van Sickle

Division 31 Communications:  Dr. Zoe Proctor-Weber